Rise of the Analog

Concept Presentation Outline (InDesign)

I recommend the following:

  1. Intro slide:
    • Your name, date, and client’s band name
  2. Research Section:
    • From the client’s garage (3–5 examples)
    • Found research images (3–5 examples):
  3. Concept Section:
    • Talk about your concept (the “what” and “how” written out then explain). Example: “I’m going to explore “Earth by making it feel…”
  4. Type Treatments Section
    • Ten different “type treatments”—created in InDesign and/or PS—for the band name as it might appear on the cover of the disk
  5. Sketches Section: of ideas to date (can be rough).
  6. End Slide: with “thank you” and a repeat of intro slide information

Plan on talking for 5min at most so keep in mind the number of slides. Practice it.

Export to PDF

  1. To export to PDF from InDesign: File > Export > Interactive PDF…
    Note: Choosing “Interactive” will enable slide transition effects as an option in Acrobat
  2. Options to consider:
    • General: Page Transitions: “Fade” (or any you choose)
    •  Compression:
      • Compression: JPEG (Lossy)
      • JPEG Quality: High
      • Resolution (PPI): 72 (since for screen)
  3. In Acrobat: View > Full Screen Mode

Due Next Class: Concept Presentation

  • IMPORTANT: Upload the PDF of your presentation on the class assignment I will provide by next class.
  • Test your file works after you upload it (so download and check it)
  • Also come to class with the same PDF on a USB drive for backup. From experience you may need it.

Some ideas to get the ball rolling…

0e11de702b22c6bc8de679cc8b2b4d0f65370fa8_m

8a1565c544f2f12a2094b33e75ddb57472de3267_m

d5ca1c62dbf10e8a4623d4a5062c6be4ee82d11b_m

bf66d8a9b6a5f4d7d45278ec9faec1682a146076_m

a3e22a86081fa340afbf267c310ab31f9dc4234b_m

c21e6b0d102985daf6e27806bd60745daf902e7d_m

ac9f6103d7a7b63de8130eb9f6377da4e1bfe7c7_m

5f788f3c3c066704a562d6570c0b2da61f8fc131_m

1087c138e920fa47e65e0ebff036855413f13305_m

76c2e49d2d980d5a9b5be392d3ff973b0d433c84_m

35413b82b8b0ce9e45456e6b4fbd728311a9835d_m

a25147d56b40ef563b8783a093f1b58e4a2e078f_m 058569817f36d2fbe9db41c4be0b2ac3b7086e51_m

analog-date-presntation-02

analog-date-presntation-03

analog-elemts-019

analog-elemts-020

efa82001b52f4d51e074359adf7590adcb66a51e_m

35dee09893447bf49bf44241f07a337baf8d9218_m

33437ab5cde2a7f71cec5e257cfcc447cf29ae12_m

d67299bf219f17c615b69372d2494abbfd7629f3_m

9a08afce5326a964c8a0c6ac0c023d82f8ab846c_m

– – – – – –

Below are type “treatments” to consider.

You should develop these in InDesign and/or Photoshop — keep in mind that you’ll need to develop at least ten ideas for your presentation!

type-treat-01 type-treat-02 type-treat-03

type-treat-04

type-treat-05

type-treat-06

type-treat-07

type-treat-08

type-treat-09

type-treat-10

type-treat-11

type-treat-12

type-treat-13

type-treat-14

type-treat-15



(BONUS) Initial Booklet Production Details

Demo videos provided in CI Learn under Project 03 module. The demo video shows dimensions for the CD booklet so if you’re doing the 7in record, be sure to change dimensions with instructions provided below.

Note: in demo videos ignore anything to do with other semester’s project requirements. Follow the requirements provided on this website and CI Learn for what is required this semester.

Start building your InDesign and Photoshop booklet spreads with the following instructions:

InDesign Booklet Dimensions

  • CD Booklet: In InDesign, the setup is easy for the CD booklet. Create a new document and begin by selecting the “Compact Disc” preset under the “Print” tab. This will set the stage for incoming artwork from Photoshop. Add eight pages and be sure to check the box for “facing pages.”
  • [ OPTIONAL ] 7″ VINYL RECORD:
    • Start with the CD presets mentioned above, then change dimensions to…
    • Width: 6.785in
    • Height: 6.785in

Photoshop Setup

  • Because PS doesn’t use bleeds, your canvas dimensions will include them. Here are the exact dimensions you’ll need depending on if you’re creating artwork for a single panel or a two-page spread:
    •  CD Booklet
      • PS Single Page (Rounded up): 4.98in high x 4.98in wide
      • PS Two Page Spread (Rounded up): 4.98in high x 9.69in wide
    • [ OPTIONAL ] 7″ Record Booklet Dimensions
      • PS Single Page (Rounded up): 7.035in high x 7.035in wide
      • PS Two Page Spread (Rounded up): 7.035in high x 13.82in wide
  • Once the PS document is set up, you’ll need a way to visualize where bleeds/crop line will be. To do so, in the menu, select “View > New Guide Layout.” Then set the margin to .125in. This will add a guide all around to represent the crop line (i.e. bleed boundary)
  • You are responsible to find dimensions for parts of the music packaging (e.g. disc label, back of the case if CD or jacket if 7in record ). Hint: can be found online (Google).
css.php