Rise of the Analog

Concept Presentation Outline (InDesign)

I recommend the following:

  1. Intro slide:
    • Your name, date, and client’s band name
  2. Research Section:
    • From the client’s garage (3–5 examples)
    • Found research images (3–5 examples):
  3. Concept Section:
    • Talk about your concept (the “what” and “how” written out then explain). Example: “I’m going to explore “Earth by making it feel…”
  4. Type Treatments Section
    • Ten different “type treatments”—created in InDesign and/or PS—for the band name as it might appear on the cover of the disk
  5. Sketches Section: of ideas to date (can be rough).
  6. End Slide: with “thank you” and a repeat of intro slide information

Plan on talking for 5min at most so keep in mind the number of slides. Practice it.

Export to PDF

  1. To export to PDF from InDesign: File > Export > Interactive PDF… Note: Choosing “Interactive” will enable slide transition effects as an option in Acrobat
  2. Options to consider:
    • General:
      • Export As: Spreads
      • Page Transitions: “Fade” (or any you choose)
    • Compression:
      • Compression: JPEG (Lossy)
      • JPEG Quality: High
      • Resolution (PPI): 72 (since for screen)
  3. In Acrobat: View > Full Screen Mode

Due Next Class: Concept Presentation

  • IMPORTANT: Upload the PDF of your presentation on the class assignment I will provide by next class.
  • Test your file works after you upload it (so download and check it)
  • Also come to class with the same PDF on a USB drive for backup. From experience you may need it.

Some ideas to get the ball rolling…

0e11de702b22c6bc8de679cc8b2b4d0f65370fa8_m
8a1565c544f2f12a2094b33e75ddb57472de3267_m
d5ca1c62dbf10e8a4623d4a5062c6be4ee82d11b_m
bf66d8a9b6a5f4d7d45278ec9faec1682a146076_m
a3e22a86081fa340afbf267c310ab31f9dc4234b_m
c21e6b0d102985daf6e27806bd60745daf902e7d_m
ac9f6103d7a7b63de8130eb9f6377da4e1bfe7c7_m
5f788f3c3c066704a562d6570c0b2da61f8fc131_m
1087c138e920fa47e65e0ebff036855413f13305_m
76c2e49d2d980d5a9b5be392d3ff973b0d433c84_m
35413b82b8b0ce9e45456e6b4fbd728311a9835d_m
a25147d56b40ef563b8783a093f1b58e4a2e078f_m
058569817f36d2fbe9db41c4be0b2ac3b7086e51_m
analog-date-presntation-02
analog-date-presntation-03
analog-elemts-019
analog-elemts-020
efa82001b52f4d51e074359adf7590adcb66a51e_m
35dee09893447bf49bf44241f07a337baf8d9218_m
33437ab5cde2a7f71cec5e257cfcc447cf29ae12_m
d67299bf219f17c615b69372d2494abbfd7629f3_m
9a08afce5326a964c8a0c6ac0c023d82f8ab846c_m

– – – – – –

Below are type “treatments” to consider.

You should develop these in InDesign and/or Photoshop — keep in mind that you’ll need to develop at least ten ideas for your presentation!

type-treat-01
type-treat-02
type-treat-03
type-treat-04
type-treat-05
type-treat-06
type-treat-07
type-treat-08
type-treat-09
type-treat-10
type-treat-11
type-treat-12
type-treat-13
type-treat-14
type-treat-15


(BONUS) Booklet Production Details

Demo videos are provided in CI Learn under Project 03 module. The demo video shows the dimensions for the CD booklet so you’ll need to change them to fit the vinyl record booklet, provided below.

Note: in demo videos ignore anything to do with other semester’s project requirements. Follow the requirements provided on this website and CI Learn for what is required this semester.

Start building your InDesign and Photoshop spreads with the following settings:

InDesign Setup

  • In InDesign the setup is easy. Create a new document and begin by selecting the “Compact Disc” preset under the “Print” tab. This will set the stage for incoming artwork from Photoshop.
  • Change dimensions for 7″ vinyl record booklet insert to…
    • Width: 6.7855in
    • Height: 6.7855in

Photoshop Setup

  • Because PS doesn’t use bleeds, your canvas dimensions will include them. Here are the exact dimensions you’ll need depending on if you’re creating artwork for a single panel or a two-page spread:
    • PS Single Page (Rounded up): 7.036 h x 7.036 w
    • PS Two Page Spread (Rounded up): 7.036 h x 13.821
  • Once the PS document is set up, you’ll need a way to visualize where the bleeds/crop line will be. To do so, in the menu, select “View > New Guide Layout.” Then set the margin to .125in. This will add a guide all around to represent the crop line (i.e. bleed boundary)
  • You are responsible to find dimensions for other parts of the 7in record (e.g. label, and sleeve). Hint: can be found online (Google).
css.php